UBC aerial-main-mall-03-1920x700

History of Xi Eta Chapter | Heritage

The history of the UBC Nursing Honor society exemplifies the commitment and efforts of a small group of nursing leaders. These members shared a dream of establishing an Honor Society, and of eventually becoming a chapter of Sigma Theta Tau. The dedication to their dream led to the formation of the UBC Nursing Honor Society in 1990.

The first meeting was held on October 23rd of that year. Carol Jillings, a member of the Gamma Nu Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau at Seton Hall University in New Jersey was elected as Chair. She also became the fist President of the Xi Eta Chapter in 1994.

In order for the Honor Society to make application for chartering as a Chapter of Sigma Theta Tau International, it would have to have at least 100 members and demonstrate financial viability.

The dream was fulfilled at the April 29, 1994 chartering ceremony when there was a formal induction of all current UBC Nursing Honor Society members, into Sigma Theta Tau International. With additional dual and transfer members who were already STTI members, a total of 181 charter members were inducted. (see charter photo)

In her annual report of May 1993, Carol Jillings, the first President, summed up the work of the Honor Society to that date:

“This Honor Society consists of nurses who have demonstrated high standards and commitment both to quality health care and to the nursing profession. It is a time to use that commitment to show some of the stuff nurses are made of: Courage, Caring, and Concern for One Another.